Collection Highlights: Wood & Silver (Necklace & Bracelet Set)

Painted round wooden beads accented with smaller silver plated beads framing the design.
Painted round wooden beads accented with smaller silver plated beads framing the design.

One of the first jobs I ever had was at a well known arts and craft store.  Every so often demonstrations are given to customers to encourage them to purchase or branch out.  My boss assigned me to do a stretch beaded bracelet for the demo.  My initial reaction was an eyebrow raise.  Not only did I lack interest in the craft, I also lacked the skill.  I voiced my concern which seemed to fall on deaf ears and accompanied by a shrug.  A three minute instruction was given and alas, I was alone.  Minutes into the demo a new door was opened to me.  Who knew it was so much fun.  😀

A wooden and silver plated brass bracelet with wooden clasp.
A wooden and silver plated brass bracelet with wooden clasp.

Making jewelry is somewhat of a zen experience for me.  Taking beads to find a sense of harmony and stringing them together to complete a wearable piece of art and design.  The functionality of fashion design is probably what drew me to the vocation.  Interestingly enough though it never even occurred to me to become a jewelry designer before. Now it has become  a path I pursue.

When it comes to metals I gravitate towards silver and with a love of organic material came about this Wood & Silver Collection.

Wood & Silver Collection: Silver Bark
Wood & Silver Collection: Wooded Droplets
Wood & Silver Collection: Rooted Silver
Wood & Silver Collection: River Branch

This collection features stained wood and silver plated beads.

Each set contains 1 (one) necklace and 1 (one) bracelet. Each bracelet is stretchy and approximately 7.5″-8″. Each necklace is approximately 18″-20″ in length. The clasps vary.

Each Set is $20, and is available in my online shop. So far 2 of each set is in stock…will make more by demand (and as long as supplies are available).

I loved the contrast between the dark wood and the silver, the combinations were endless. Works great for a casual dressed up look. Beautiful with jeans!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Melaine says:

    Hello! I am aware this is significantly off topic but I was wondering which web log platform are you currently using with
    this site? I’m getting fed up with WordPress because I’ve had difficulties with hackers and I’m taking a look at options for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me toward an excellent platform.

    1. ShandraKay says:

      It’s wordpress. My mother uses Blogger, not quite sure about the hack-ability on that one. Hackers usually go after popular/mainstream sites, so I doubt another platform would make a difference. Another option can include blogs that are uploaded to a server (as in your own website), but they can be twitchy and difficult to manage if you lack web design skills (html, php, etc). Not much help am I? Good luck Melaine..let me know what you find!

Leave a Reply

