Countdown To Halloween: HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

COUNTDOWN TILL HALLOWEEN - 0 DAYS

You can’t have Halloween without its spooky tales, urban legends, and creepy lore. Out of the tales none is more classic than the headless Hessian ghost of a quaint eerie town of Sleepy Hollow. The short story was one of 34 essays written by Washington Irving in 1820. It has since garnered several adaptions including musicals, a short animation, a movie and even a tv series.

I had three ideas for the last installation of the Halloween Countdown.  Prior to this I already attempted a spider, crow and a ghost, a witch and last but not least, a gravestone.   All of which demonstrate various mediums and techniques.  The three choices for this one was a mummy. the reaper, or the headless horseman.  I attempted the reaper first.  Time was drifting away from me so I had to put it on the back burner for now.

Sneek-Peek of "DEATH AWAITS", Photoshop of Reaper.
Sneek-Peek of “DEATH AWAITS”, Photoshop of Reaper.

I knew my mummy idea would not be feasible in only a weeks time, so I decided to do the headless horseman.

I chose to do another pixel manipulation drawing (photoshop).  The graphic drawing is at 600 ppi, 20″x14″, and about 40 layers.  Unfortunately no closeups for this one…I didn’t feel they were that interesting.  I did however include a sneek-peek of my “reaper” character, which strays a bit from the traditional rendition. With only two days to complete, it finally came together.

"Ghost of Sleepy Hollow" 600ppi, 20"x14" - First Draft.
“Ghost of Sleepy Hollow” 600ppi, 20″x14″ – First Draft.

As you can see for this caption, this is only a first draft. Found too many things that need more tinkering 🙂

As a final note HAPPY HALLOWEEN, be safe and have fun!

One Comment Add yours

  1. I love this one! Can’t wait to see what else you come up with! Great job Shandra!

Leave a Reply

